top of page

National Donut Day!

Donuts (or doughnuts) are basically, in my opinion, the food of gods.

So today, in honour of National Donut Day, I went with a friend and celebrated in the best donut shop of the city: COCO Donuts' Pop-Up Shop in the Sablons.

The idea was started by 2 cool chicks and their love of donuts with a knack for baking, it's as simple as that.

And I will be forever grateful to them for starting this adventure and sharing it with us.

I had already had the pleasure of tasting some of their delicious donuts for Valentine's Day (bless my love!), but had yet to check out their newly opened shop.

Today was the best day and I was not disappointed.

Their little shop is in one of my favourite neighbourhoods in Brussels, which also hosts some other favourites (Ladurée, Wittamer to name a couple).

There are seats in front and some inside, which gives it a little rustic tearoom feel. The interior has a lot of wood and mismatched tables and chairs, which gives it authenticity and cosiness.

I was already feeling at home!

The shop also gives you the opportunity to buy some items from mason jars to jams to drinks, well worth it!

The hardest part of the entire experience though was choosing which donut(s) to indulge on today!

There are dozens of flavours to choose from: Speculoos, Caramel, Lemon, Strawberry-Rhubarb, Chocolate-Marshmallows, Oreo... You can see where I'm going with this.

After a very intense and difficult internal conflict, I finally decided to try the Oreo donut and the Mini Maple-Bacon donut.

Boy was I not disappointed.

But before I tell you about how absolutely delicious they were, here's a picture to make you salivate.

Here's a picture of my friend's donuts: Lemon and Strawberry (look at those beauties!)

Now, you can tell these donuts are fresh: the dough was the right amount of airy, chewy and dense. The icings on top were absolutely perfect as well, there was absolutely no overpowering taste. They have the perfect way to balance each flavour out, it's amazing.

If you're a donut lover, do yourself a favour and go ASAP. If you're not a donut lover, go ASAP as well and they will convert you. But, make sure to go rather early (before 1-2pm) to have the best chance of actually getting the good ones because they sell out rather fast!

Now, I have had my fair share of donuts in my life but these take the cake!

And there are not enough words to describe how amazing they are so I'll just let you go and discover for yourself.

Address: 36 Rue Sainte-Anne, 1000 Brussels

(http://www.cocodonutsbrussels.com)

bottom of page